Octopath Traveler Review

Published by Darron Toy on


43 Comments

oldnotweak · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

game looks great…. but i hate that style of "combat" so i sadly wont be able to enjoy it.

Fuke Mu · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Why am I here? I can't even afford a switch.

Omar Mohanad · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

One of the best games on the switch

Martian Melon · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

It does have a final boss with all of the characters after you finish all the main stream stories for the characters!!!!!!

Ekssel Rio Tovando · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Imo rather than just a picture and stand there (battle) i like it more if they go to the front of the people they attacking, and get the contact animation, just like suikoden. So its look more like a real battle. But overall its okay ill definitely play it

evan whitewood · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Reminds me of the old star ocean

Henry Townshed · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

It sounds like this guy didn't beat all the storylines and didn't get the true ending. How does IGN get away with doing reviews when they don't even finish the game.

GarageSeller · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

1:40 that's where you're wrong.

King Virgo · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

This game was designed for people who are critical thinkers I love this game I think this might be my favorite

Eclipse The Gambling Ocelot · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

9.3/10 too much fun
-IGN

Eclipse The Gambling Ocelot · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Absolutely no negatives, immense praise, not a 10. Why not?

LuvTheSnapper · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Ok so either I'm a moron, or the side quests in this game are the worst gaming has ever seen. Nothing is marked or explained about any sidequest. Sidequest is a guy saying boy, it would be nice to have a group to hang out with. Then nothing. No marks on maps, no direction whatsoever on how to complete it. Am I missing something, or do they expect people to wander aimlessly until somehow the quest is completed by accident? Wtf.

Maicon Faria · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

now I'm regretting of my ps4. I only played GOW4 and Hollow knight in it…

No Name · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Fun game, interesting design, poor stories and writing.

The life of Dan · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Great reviewer.

Spookay T'is Me · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

WTF ?! Why the mild storyline spoilers? This is supposed to be a review channel and I watched this to help me to decide whether to buy… I didn't need to know things like "there was no ultimate evil" ending etc.

GreatLordMarth · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

a strategy turn based jrpg with one liners great music
SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY

Harsono Ng · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

This game talk too much before begin

Shmow · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

I love octopath but you keep repeating how you spent 50 hours on this game even though it’s not that much

a26martinez22 · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

It was my understanding that when you do finish all eight stories there is a world threatening baddie monster

A Casual Music Listener · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

This is my second JRPG so far (first being Xenoblade 2 which was eh). I'm digging it too much. I'm only 40 hours in with plenty more to go. I'm in love with this game. The only thing I don't like is story segments are played out as if there's only one character. Like with boss fights some are like "so you came here by yourself eh?" Completely ignoring my other party members. Other than that, this game is fantastic. Must buy for switch owners who are fans of this genre.

Roshea · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

A JOB SYSTEM, WOW
that's never been done before 😒

Ashton Lagleva · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

It's Olberic the Warrior, not the knight.

kingX777 · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

But why does it look like it’s a ps1 game

KIM JONG FAT · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

The graphiscs beautifull

kinit De leon · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

i downloaded the demo and played for 30 mins.
Damn!! i love this game

James Goku · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

I would love a new game like FF Tactics or Vagrant Story. But any remakes like that one should stick to the old formula and look.

A remake of Parasite Eve would be amazing if they did it like they did with Resident Evil 2.

But what I truly would love is a remake of Xenogears.

Mic Dy · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

i need a switch

Ezberbozan Mapper · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

well, play it more

Lance Kendrick Corpus · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Its just romancing saga with the gameplay of bravely default

Heunice Mackmaw · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

I bought this over Xenoblade 2 and I'm setsuna. And I'm not disappointed!!!

KingsRight · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

i'll be getting this when i finally get my switch. i love the graphic look. very pretty.

b04620k · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

This guy is excruciating to listen to. So over the top. I finished octopath traveller and it was okay… Calm down bro…

Otterly Brandon · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

I'm going to play this and pretend it's the true Golden Sun 3

Skadookz · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Which other platforms is this game on?

Ben Horvitz · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Be careful playing the demo. You’ll want to buy the whole game. I know I did.

Xane Hoffman · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

lol 24 minutes of gameplay doesnt make me want this game, glad i watched the review as well

criticallyashamed2 · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

You know, I think it's charming and somewhat sweet that there's little connection between the stories. It's just kind and capable people helping each other achieve something great and looking for company. It may be unrealistic, but it's something pure and that's what makes me love it as much as I do. I love this game and I'm glad the reviewer does as well!

Timothy Spencer · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Bring Golden Sun back on switch Nintendo… please

Saturn · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

I can't stand how small the text is…

Savage · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Dear game developers, please stop using American voice actors for these type of games. It absolutely ruins the experience. Even Americans themselves prefer other accents. Why not use British voice actors? Everyone loves the UK accent and it fits this game so much beter.

LuisEm1109 · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

Looks like Golden Sun for gba, with bad graphics quality haha

Caleb Kapen · May 14, 2019 at 6:34 pm

There’s an optional final boss that links all the stories together in lore, mostly with the backstory of an unseen “hero” who inspired several of the travelers and a secret villain who drove several antagonists to commit their crimes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *