LEGO City Arctic Air Transport review! 60193

Published by Darron Toy on


hello hello this is the LEGO City Arctic
air transport set from the 2018 Arctic exploration sub-theme a lot of folks
have asked me to review this one in particular so let me start out with the
biggest thing the quadcopter this is a bit of a forward-looking
design as I don’t think anything quite like this exists in real life at this
sort of scale just yet at least it’s not successful and commercially available
it’s just about the size that I expected it to be from looking at the pictures
but I actually like the design of the struts here a little bit better than I
thought they have recolored these angled plate
pieces modified plate pieces into orange and they sandwich those from above and
from beneath to create a nice little structure there and they also offset the
rear rotors vertically just a little bit so these pass over you can choose how
you want to line these rotors up I just alternated their position from one to
the next as you go around so this one would spin this way this one would spin
this way this one spins this way this one spins this way but I think in the
instructions they have you putting them all the same direction just uh yeah
let’s figure out how you want to do that yourself think in in the real world
dude make the most sense to have them alternating but you know use this
particular specialized cockpit canopy piece many many times
up to now here we have it in orange and the orange and the dark blue go together
pretty well this looks pretty slick from the sides they use just a few stickers
with this one and this one here being the most important to get that nice
smooth transition there you do want to put this sticker as far down into the
left or down and to the rear as possible on this one as far up and to the front
as possible to eliminate any blue gap around there but overall I think this
thing looks pretty good I like the the v-shaped tail back there and this
actually these surfaces have have stickers on either side you can bring
these up if you want gives it a slightly differ
look we’ve got skids here and you see a hook hanging out from the bottom I
originally thought that this knot here was going to rotate all of the rotors
but these are just free free-floating this just free spinning this just
operates the winch and it’s just a very simple mechanism it allows you to pick
up anything that would fit into a normal leg Oh hook you’ve gotten this piece
many many times as for interior space there’s very little of it unfortunately
very little useable space inside of this thing so for the most part what you see
from the outside is what you get and what you can use there’s a cockpit that
holds a single person there and they have a printed control panel in front no
control sticks and that’s just it there’s no there’s no storage space back
here none of this is usable space it’s hollow back here but it’s not usable
it’s not designed to be opened up easily so that’s really it you kind of finish
with the features of this a little bit more quickly than expected perhaps I
like the overall design the do wish that you could do a little bit more with it
as it is its intended just with this set to pick up this build here now this is
an ice block that is holding on to an ancient saber-tooth cat that has been
perfectly preserved there this is just the simplest build but again as with
other sets from this line I think this little build here it looks pretty good
for what it is this one’s really really simple but you know there’s a little
hoop to grab with the hook and I guess you just take this back to base before
you crack it open to get the animal out which is perfectly fine makes a lot more
sense to to carry all of this back to someplace where you no more care can be
taken to very carefully extract the animal but pull that now just take out
one single piece and the animal just comes straight out you’ve already seen
this previously but I’ll show you it again it’s a new mold for the head there
just has the same articulation as other lego big cats with the head being able
to go up and down and also the would be rear legs are able to rotate forward and
back with the built in tail there and that allows you to put this into a
reared up position so if you want to think of this as coming to life for some
reason you certainly can and you’re encouraged to I mean those eyes are open
so if you want to put that kind of into your your fanciful play you can couple
studs on the top you can make a minifig right it if you want you can add a
sample to it you can make it carry cargo whatever you want to do I think that
like I did a pretty decent job with this and I think the color schemes
is pretty nice with the medium nougat and then the printing done in dark brown
the last major feature of the set is this Arctic ATV so it just has oversized
tires to get good traction and to be able to go over ice and snow and rough
terrain well this is a printed piece rather than a sticker here on the front
they have been doing one single piece like that in every city sub-theme or
most of the city sub-themes for a while now this is a simple build but I like it
a little bit of studs on the side construction for the front just enough
it has some character I like how low the figure is able to sit
there and it has several attachments on the back for a minifig accessories it
comes with those three there with the circular saw and the two ice picks so
figures can get down and do some prep work to get the ice block ready for a
transport out here are those two figures up close and they do use the same legs
between them there’s no print on the hip pieces but obviously torsos are
different that lighter blue color is dark as your and it’s a very striking
color one of the more striking colors in the Lego palette I believe right now and
also one of the newest to be added I think it looks pretty good guy on the
Left actually has a hoodie that you see is actually down right now
too bad there’s no alternate face for that guy would have been good to get a
proper human face for him the alternate face for the lady either
but there are main faces I think are appropriate enough the guy on the left
is intended to be wearing a balaclava with a pair of goggles over that so here
we are almost at the end of the video already which is surprising to me but
then again that only comes with 277 pieces so I guess it shouldn’t be too
complex I like the design of the aircraft I do wish there was some usable
cargo space in there the mechanism for the winch only takes up you know just a
small little sliver of it and there’s not a lot of structure inside either
it’s very hollow so it’s too bad that you know you couldn’t make use of that
but probably with a little bit of customization freeing up some of the
stuff on the top will allow you to get easier access in there this little build
is good this build here is fine as simple as it is I think the whole thing
looks pretty good it’s just not very complex that’s all but it really comes
down to whether you like what you see the one thing that I don’t like that I
see is the price in the US which seems a little bit excessive is so price to part
ratio why is it looks bad I think it doesn’t look as bad when I actually see
the volume of stuff that you get here you know this this vehicle is is fairly
large the the aircraft there does use some fairly large pieces so I think the
value is not too bad but definitely could have been better and it looks like
it’s much better in other countries but I think I showed you everything there is
to see about this one so I will just move on to the next video and talk to
you then thanks for watching I’ll catch you later you


100 Comments

BLBrick Studios · June 11, 2018 at 8:41 pm

1 Mil!!!!🎉🎉🎉

alameachan · June 11, 2018 at 8:41 pm

Regarding prices you really get ripped off in the US. Prices did not change in Germany, everything ist between 20 to 30% cheaper compared to what you have to pay…

Moronic Midget · June 11, 2018 at 8:41 pm

Congrats on 1mil!

AlphaCentauriA1 · June 11, 2018 at 8:44 pm

Do the one with the rat

NintendoFan · June 11, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Despite the new mold, i still think this shouldn't cost 40$

joseph Ryke · June 11, 2018 at 8:58 pm

congrats on getting 1milion subs iv been subscribed since 300k

Mcbrick's Lego · June 11, 2018 at 9:09 pm

1,000,000 subscribers! Congratulations!!

ClipsMaster Productions · June 11, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Interesting quadcopter; I like it.

And congratulations for 1 million, Jang!!!

DargoDog · June 11, 2018 at 10:20 pm

I am not a fan of that cockpit piece, seems like it wastes a lot of space. Thanks for sharing!!!

BluYosh572 · June 11, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Congrats on 1 million I love your videos and I’m really excited for you to review the Ninjago season 9 sets

HaloGhostGamer · June 11, 2018 at 11:19 pm

1mil YAY

R screen · June 11, 2018 at 11:26 pm

Wooooo
1 million subs

Christiane Tonteria · June 11, 2018 at 11:35 pm

hey Jangbricks, i dont do publique sataements often, gz to 1kk Subscribers, its hard work, competence, autonomy, trustworthiness, you know all these datails. Its hard work to copy that or doing better, cause you enjoy what you are doing. You are independent ! wish you will be online as long as possible, so ppl know what LEGO is REALY about in detail 😛

NarwhalSquad · June 11, 2018 at 11:36 pm

CONGRATS ON 1MILLION

Conan Valeria · June 12, 2018 at 12:08 am

Halo Infinite trailer at E3, MC is back!  Another average offering in this theme.  Congrats on a 1,000,000.

20th Century SOX · June 12, 2018 at 12:14 am

finally! after 3 years, we finally get the saber tooth clan's legend beast! lol

JuLx-YT · June 12, 2018 at 12:21 am

Cool

Bob Hughes · June 12, 2018 at 12:27 am

YAY FOR 1 Million!!! You’re the best jang. Totally deserve this

Gael De La Garza · June 12, 2018 at 12:46 am

Hey Jangbricks congratulations on having 1,000,000 subscribers!!!Big fan

Spadester 1214 · June 12, 2018 at 1:24 am

Congrats for hitting the big 1 mill Jang!

Joshua Prince · June 12, 2018 at 1:29 am

Cant wait for your 1 mil video. Congrats man. You absolutely deserve it. Your content is consistently good and I wish you the best of luck and many more subscribers!

Daniel Weaver · June 12, 2018 at 1:56 am

1 million subs!!!, the day has come. hope he does another subscribe video

jac6995 · June 12, 2018 at 1:58 am

That one mini fig looks like cobra commander

Daniel Weaver · June 12, 2018 at 2:05 am

why do people feel the need to "brag" about how long they have been a subscriber. It's JANGs accomplishment, I subscribe to help creators that deserve it.

Adrian Sue · June 12, 2018 at 2:08 am

No Spin?
wish there was some kinda rotor spin mechanism, especially given the insides aren't being used for cargo space….

Salty · June 12, 2018 at 2:14 am

This is the cause of putting 2 chinooks together.

MrAllMine · June 12, 2018 at 2:18 am

I can’t believe there is no storage in the quadcopter….so disappointed….a huge miss IMO…. I thought for sure you would have been able to open the rear and store stuff inside….not as cool as it could have been….great vid as always!!!!

GJBricks · June 12, 2018 at 2:41 am

I really like the design of this plane, but that rear moulded piece bugs me given there's no form of side entrance like you get in the helicopters it's usually used on. A brick build that could open and be used would have been much better. Good review Jang. Got the details as always

JD · June 12, 2018 at 2:56 am

The lack of storage/opening space is a real letdown. Looks cool though. Kind of pricey.

builderbrady 2 · June 12, 2018 at 3:02 am

CONGRATS JANG!🎉 Finally 1 million subs! Well deserved keep up the good work!

VetixoDash · June 12, 2018 at 3:04 am

Imagine if you got kids, they would have Legos for life

ActiveAlexPlays · June 12, 2018 at 3:30 am

Congrats on 1,000,000 subscribers! 😀

4D Hyper Wiener · June 12, 2018 at 3:56 am

Soooo uuuh, when is the Chiron reveiw coming?

Karemaker · June 12, 2018 at 4:01 am

Not too big a fan of this set. I do like the cat in ice however!

OH and Jang my friend, we're so proud of your success! We adore you.

Vinesauce Obscurities · June 12, 2018 at 4:37 am

inb4 someone converts this build into a functional quadcopter.

NEXUS Productions · June 12, 2018 at 4:55 am

1 millllllllllioooooooonnnnnnnn subs do a video

Hello There · June 12, 2018 at 5:18 am

OMG!!!! JANG, YOU DID IT!!!! 1 MIL!!!!

Cashflow 649 · June 12, 2018 at 5:29 am

Congrats Jang. A major milestone to be proud of. Maybe you can do a “thanks” video in person. It’s being a while since we saw you.

Matthew Simpson · June 12, 2018 at 5:46 am

1000000 nice bro

Spectrum · June 12, 2018 at 5:56 am

H A P P Y ”1,000,000” S U B S C R I B E R S

DD_Zzero6 · June 12, 2018 at 6:14 am

So everybody keeps congratulating Jang for 1 million subs but I don't see anywhere that he even says thanks or anything. You would think he would make a video or write something or say something somewhere.

ivan oreo · June 12, 2018 at 6:20 am

Is that quad boat plane th ing in the new kall of dutey black cops 4 ghosts cuz it look like the won from the trailer

Bens Playz · June 12, 2018 at 6:35 am

Yay! Finally the 1 million subs you deserve, congrats Jang

Jamiro Blues · June 12, 2018 at 6:44 am

Congrats to Jang for 1 million subscribers

StemeCronic · June 12, 2018 at 6:51 am

Well done jang for a million !!!!!!!!!!😂😂😂😂😂

Harry Potter · June 12, 2018 at 7:41 am

Congratulations on 1 Million Subscribers. I had watched your channel since 2010. 🎊🎉

Benjamin0119 · June 12, 2018 at 8:15 am

Really disappointing that the knob doesn't spin the rotors! D:

hann · June 12, 2018 at 8:17 am

congrats to a million

Ian Studios · June 12, 2018 at 8:32 am

Omg jang I just realized that you have over one million subscribers

Congrats I always like seeing your videos and I can see two million in the near future👍

BufferUnderrun · June 12, 2018 at 8:45 am

In my opinion Lego should consider to increase their airplanes and helicopters to an eight-stud-width so that two pilots can sit next to each other and to offer more cargo space.

Chaitanya Kannan · June 12, 2018 at 8:51 am

Congrats Jang on 1 million subs

domagoj905 · June 12, 2018 at 9:28 am

Congrats on 1 mil views Jang!

I am getting this set on Thursday for 22€. Mainly for the cat and to do a written review!

Илья Ремов · June 12, 2018 at 10:32 am

1,000,000 подписчиков! Русские есть?

Saran Wrap · June 12, 2018 at 11:20 am

Chiron review soon?

Logan Hess · June 12, 2018 at 11:33 am

This set is disappointing

dj gamer · June 12, 2018 at 3:15 pm

Jang can you review the avengers infinity war polly bag. I forgot what was the name of the set.

moth · June 12, 2018 at 4:40 pm

When i first saw that I remembered sum drones from today in realife

Nac_mac_feegle - · June 12, 2018 at 6:42 pm

2:19 Yeah I also thought that the roater blades would be rotated by that

legomaster4328 studios · June 12, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Congrats on 1 million subscribers you deserve each and every one because of the hard. Work that goes into your videos

Nilpgreg Slasher · June 12, 2018 at 8:11 pm

It’s a quadcopter

Algernop Krieger · June 12, 2018 at 8:32 pm

dangerzone…

xcalibur3106 · June 12, 2018 at 10:21 pm

Decent looking craft but the price is really just way too much for what you get..easy pass for me

Corey Reilly · June 14, 2018 at 6:15 am

I like all these from this series, that plane thing is sweet, great video guys, love the channel, keep up the hard work.

Leroy · June 14, 2018 at 11:34 am

Suggestion if I may; The quadcopter looks like it could fit nicely into your Mellemby District. Personally I think it wouldn't look out of place in something like Ghost in the Shell. With a few mods (and maybe a colour change) it could look very at home in your cyberpunk undercity.

Golddragon 362 · June 14, 2018 at 11:34 pm

Purserved 😊

Vasiliev Ivanov · June 16, 2018 at 3:45 am

One million subs, congrats comrade!

Josh Paulen · June 18, 2018 at 9:37 pm

Congrats on one mil

Tinny Mean · June 19, 2018 at 5:27 pm

1 million!!!

Stelios - Petros Halas · June 19, 2018 at 7:08 pm

I never liked this particular front plane nose canopy. The helicopter one is much better.

Joshua McClure · July 6, 2018 at 6:15 pm

This looks like a really fun build, the LEGO city line has never really intrigued me up until recently

Virgini Coertze · July 16, 2018 at 2:54 pm

I just love that ATV

Leamalemur 2008 · July 16, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Meza got it today

Dylan Koch · July 28, 2018 at 6:54 am

Kinda looks like a non vtol V-44 pelican

mugdan THEPOWER · August 2, 2018 at 9:25 am

If they put ice on the simildon (aka saber tooth tiger) it would be cool cause if the did it would be like a real saber frozen even the propellers are not that cool anyways it would even more cool if they made a new model for the little vehicles wheels and I'm meaning the should at some ice to it but on what on earth is it driving on snow ❄️ or ice it might slip

eternal firewind · August 16, 2018 at 8:12 am

Meesa got it cause I jad the idea of making all the propellors spin together using the center cog

Carelli Collectables · September 18, 2018 at 7:25 pm

I love all the weird stuff LEGO is doing with those little modified A-Frame plate bits. I've seen them used in a few different sets now, but in WILDLY different ways.
Super interesting.

Jarvis Atkins · October 12, 2018 at 2:14 am

It's called a smilodon

Nicholas Silverio · October 14, 2018 at 12:17 pm

1 million subs!! Congratulations!!! 🎈

Sam Gossard · October 17, 2018 at 4:16 am

It’s a shame it’s not available where I live cause I really like that smilodon in a cheaper set compared to the 80$ set it also comes in

luluk mutmainnah · October 27, 2018 at 4:52 am

2019 arctic police

Billem Billemsen · October 27, 2018 at 8:58 pm

Someone needs to build a moc with a few sabre tooth cats vs the mammoth

Finn angry · October 28, 2018 at 4:40 pm

I was going to get this but I got the first responder.

Stiggy The Stygimoloch · November 5, 2018 at 12:28 pm

just picked this up. very cool set

Jake Parsons · November 5, 2018 at 3:27 pm

I have dat

fnaf fan · December 2, 2018 at 8:00 am

I have this set

Joseph Stoneman · December 3, 2018 at 7:06 am

Pinch the lower rear section of the fuselage and the tail section and portion of the roof pops off. This gives you easy access to the cargo bay where you can fit the the sabre tooth cat or 4 mini figs. Up front move the two pieces behind the pilot to on top of and in front of the console and you get space for another mini fig there too…

Steve L · December 19, 2018 at 10:11 pm

You can't open the back? So disappointed.

AZRubs · January 13, 2019 at 4:35 am

Looks pretty cool and has a winch… might buy, little disappointed with the back but it’s all good.

BNSF 8010 · January 31, 2019 at 3:00 am

Mil V-12

DEBJANI ROY · February 10, 2019 at 5:06 pm

I having seen tigers in the wild can say that this cat with its fangs chipped will look more real than the one Lego gave last year

James Hannah · February 13, 2019 at 10:08 pm

I understand this doesn't fly but 0:55 ideally you would have the port rotors rotating opposite the starboard rotors. Jang alternated them all and that is not desirable. The idea is you can have one rotor fail in flight and the remaining rotor continue providing lift but not have differential thrust causing the craft to spiral and crash. Left side one direction. Right side other direction. Often rotating in.

Dino Craft · March 26, 2019 at 3:22 am

I also thought the wheel would turn the propellers!!!

jessica duhamel · April 17, 2019 at 12:53 pm

2:41 NO COFFEE MUG???!!!!!???!

Hayden Faulkner · April 20, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Jang when you have the vertical stabilizers at the angle you had them originally, they would actually be known as ruddervators because they could be considered both rudders and elevators

Alejandro Mayorga · June 6, 2019 at 2:42 am

Hard

Alex McMahan · June 7, 2019 at 3:56 pm

I have most of these sets the sabretooth set is my favorite set. But I also like the mammoth and the husky. 👍👍👍

erstla · June 23, 2019 at 4:57 am

I think it's another great set.

Col Wars Studio Brickfilm and more! · July 1, 2019 at 8:02 pm

the arctic sets are not anything like the arctic

Col Wars Studio Brickfilm and more! · July 1, 2019 at 8:06 pm

lego should make white base plates

Col Wars Studio Brickfilm and more! · July 1, 2019 at 8:07 pm

you cant use cars in arctic ice it will crack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *